Columbia Road Flower Market & Around

This morning I made the trip into London to do some research for the novel that I am writing (or at least trying to write – it’s a bit of a labour of love as time is often scarce (I work full time and I’m often out of the house for 12 hours on a weekday).

It was a beautifully bright and crisp Autumnal day (Autumn is by far and away my favourite season) so I headed to the eponymously named Columbia Road Flower Market.

SONY DSC

I absolutely love its buzz – the flowers fill the air with their beautiful fragrance and your eyes are dazzled by the outstanding rainbow of colours.

SONY DSC

The pink pineapples (which I had never seen before but which are fab!) were some of my favourites and it goes without saying the plush hydrangea too which were as big as footballs.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

There was even the first glimpse of Christmas with miniature Christmas trees, fir cones, scented oranges and cinnamon sticks.

DSC04794.jpg

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I also used the opportunity to also have a go at improving my photography skills (luckily the market is full of people with cameras so I didn’t feel too self-conscious) and have a potter around the shops and galleries.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSCSONY DSC

Then it was off to Dishoom, my favourite brunch spot, for lots and lots of chai to warm me up.

I hope you’re all having a fab weekend whatever you are up to!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Columbia Road Flower Market & Around

Leave a comment